decoder

Concrete Cast

Decoder

In the linguistic approach of performativity, language is not just a tool for describing the world that is either used correctly or incorrectly. It inevitably creates reality; it is always communication that forms the subject of a society.

Decoder is a work that deals with the decoding and categorisation of a description-independent outside world, but in the other direction also with the linguistic programming of an inside world - which for its part produces an outside. How absolutely can these two external worlds be distinguished from each other?

The object of cognition in this arrangement is a piece of driftwood cast in concrete, a hybrid body reminiscent of both a faded tree trunk and a fragment of a demolished building. So what defines this object, its tree-like, once living surface or its artificial, concreted interior?

Like this tree made of reinforced concrete, we stand outside of "nature" without ever really being able to leave it. With the help of communication, we create our society out of ourselves, our being and our doing form an inseparable unit (autopoiesis). We are part of this world from which we have sprung.

Materials: concrete casts, cables, genuine antique glass, office box
Dimensions: (LxWxH) ~ 51 x 35 x 95 cm
Year: 2023

(The concrete cast of the piece of wood was originally created as an independent work entitled Ryan Frost.)

decoder decoder decoder

decoder

Beton-Guss

Decoder



Im sprachtheoretischen Ansatz der Performativität ist Sprache nicht nur ein Werkzeug zur Beschreibung der Welt, das entweder richtig oder falsch verwendet wird. Unumgänglich stellt sie Wirklichkeit her; immer bildet erst Kommunikation das Subjekt einer Gesellschaft.

Decoder ist eine Arbeit, die sich mit der Dekodierung und Kategorisierung einer beschreibungs-unabhängigen Außenwelt, aber in die andere Richtung auch mit der sprachlichen Programmierung einer Innenwelt - die ihrerseits ein Außen herstellt - beschäftigt. Wie absolut lassen sich diese beiden Außenwelten überhaupt voneinander unterscheiden?

Das Erkenntnisobjekt in dieser Anordnung ist ein in Beton gegossenes Stück Treibholz, ein hybrider Körper der sowohl an einen verblichenen Baumstamm, wie auch an ein Bruchstück eines abgerissenen Gebäudes erinnert. Was definiert nun dieses Objekt, seine baumartige, einst lebendige Oberfläche oder sein künstliches, betonernes Inneres?

Wie dieser Baum aus Stahlbeton stehen wir außerhalb der "Natur", ohne sie jemals wirklich verlassen zu können. Mithilfe von Kommunikation erzeugen wir unsere Gesellschaft aus uns selbst heraus, unser Sein und unser Tun bilden eine untrennbare Einheit (Autopoiesis). Wir sind Teil dieser Welt, der wir entsprungen sind.

Materialien: Beton-Guss, Kabel, mundgeblasenes Echt-Antik-Glas, Büroschrank
Abmessungen: (LxBxH) ~ 51 x 35 x 95 cm
Jahr: 2023

(Der Betonabguss des Holzstücks war ursprünglich eine unabhängige Arbeit mit dem Titel Ryan Frost).

decoder decoder decoder