Anamorphic Cube

Human Animal Binary

The art installation Human Animal Binary shows four fragmented illustrations of animal species native to Tyrol, which are under the influence of climate change. The images of lynx, bee, kingfisher, and river trout are interlocked over 144 strips of glass in a cube-shaped space. As you walk around the sculpture, they dissolve into fragments of images and reassemble – like a constant coming into being and passing away of living creatures.
This artistic presentation is accompanied by a text on the biodiversity crisis for each picture and side. Starting from the respective depiction, an arc is drawn to larger ecological contexts.
The installation made of glass, concrete and metal addresses a dilemma in which a large part of humanity finds itself: Human habitat largely contradicts coexistence with non-human animals. In order not to exceed the capacity limits of the planet and thus prevent the destruction of our living space, the fundamental act of renewing the foundations of civilization in dealing with the environment is needed.
The climate crisis makes it clear once again that our understanding of “nature” as something other, subordinate to us, has begun to crumble and a new design has become overdue.
Human/Animal Binary was designed to last. One day the installation will stand in a different social context: as a memorial that has come true or as a relic of a time that has been overcome.

Techniques / Materials: concrete casting, traditional stained glass techniques, float glass, aluminium, stainless steel
Weight: ~ 2000 kg
Dimensions: (LxWxH) ~150 x 150 x 230 cm
Year: 2022

Funded by: Land Tirol
Selected by: TKI Tiroler Kultur-Initiativen
Thank you:
5k digitalfilm / Theresa Braun / Eisen Blasy / Fest / Manu Delago / Michael Gassebner / Clemens Gotsis / Nicolás Hafele / Isidor Happacher / Stefanie Kirschner / Myriam Kraml / Maite Mateo / Filmlicht Robert Mayr / Elisabeth Medicus / Gerhard Medicus / Markus Penz / Lucas Riccabona / Severin Sonnewend

Downloads:
detailed project description (pdf)
description for each animal (pdf)

Availability:

Human Animal Binary Human Animal Binary Human Animal Binary Human Animal Binary Human Animal Binary Human Animal Binary Human Animal Binary Human Animal Binary Human Animal Binary Human Animal Binary Human Animal Binary Human Animal Binary Human Animal Binary Human Animal Binary

Anamorpher Würfel

Human Animal Binary

Die Kunstinstallation Human Animal Binary zeigt vier fragmentierte Abbildungen von in Tirol heimischen Tierarten, die unter dem Einfluss des Klimawandels stehen. Die Bilder von Luchs, Biene, Eisvogel und Bachforelle sind in einem würfelförmigen Raum auf 144 Glasstreifen ineinander verschachtelt angeordnet. Beim Umschreiten der Skulptur lösen sie sich die Darstellungen in Bildfragmente auf und setzen sich wieder zusammen - wie ein ständiges Entstehen und Vergehen der Lebewesen.
Diese künstlerische Darstellung wird von einem Text zur Biodiversitätskrise für jedes Bild und jede Seite begleitet. Von der jeweiligen Darstellung ausgehend wird ein Bogen zu größeren ökologischen Zusammenhängen geschlagen.
Der Titel Human Animal Binary sowie die Verwendung der industriellen Materialien Beton, Glas und Metall verweisen auf ein Dilemma, in dem sich ein Großteil der Menschheit befindet: Menschlicher Lebensraum wiederspricht weitgehend einer Koexistenz mit nicht-menschlichen Tieren. Damit die Kapazitätsgrenzen des Planeten nicht überschritten und so die Zerstörung unseres Lebensraumes verhindert wird, braucht es einen fundamentalen Kraftakt globaler Dimension.
Klimakrise und Pandemie machen einmal mehr deutlich, dass unser Verständnis von „der Natur“ als etwas Anderem, uns Untergeordnetem zu bröckeln begonnen hat und die Erneuerung zivilisatorischer Grundfesten längst notwendig geworden ist.
Human Animal Binary wurde für eine lange Lebensdauer konzipiert. Eines Tages wird die Installation in einem anderen gesellschaftlichen Kontext stehen: als Mahnmal, das sich bewahrheitet hat oder als Relikt einer überwundenen Zeit.

Techniken / Materialien: Beton-Guss, traditionelle Glasmalerei, Float-Glas, Aluminium, Edelstahl
Gewicht: ~ 2000 kg
Abmessungen: (LxBxH) ~150 x 150 x 230 cm
Jahr: 2022

Gefördert durch: Land Tirol
Ausgewählt von: TKI Tiroler Kultur-Initiativen

Danke:
5k digitalfilm / Theresa Braun / Eisen Blasy / Fest / Manu Delago / Michael Gassebner / Clemens Gotsis / Nicolás Hafele / Isidor Happacher / Stefanie Kirschner / Myriam Kraml / Maite Mateo / Filmlicht Robert Mayr / Elisabeth Medicus / Gerhard Medicus / Markus Penz / Lucas Riccabona / Severin Sonnewend

Downloads:
Ausführliche Projektbeschreibung (pdf)
Beschreibung für jedes Tier (pdf)

Human Animal Binary Human Animal Binary Human Animal Binary Human Animal Binary Human Animal Binary Human Animal Binary Human Animal Binary Human Animal Binary Human Animal Binary Human Animal Binary Human Animal Binary Human Animal Binary Human Animal Binary