amoeba

Public Art Installation

Take a Seat, Make a Stand!

In densely populated urban areas, there are recurring controversial debates about who is allowed to use the city and how. The high level of acceptance among the population towards a policy of segregation and exclusion is striking. At a local level, this becomes clear, for example, in connection with no-sleeping and begging zones or the accommodation of refugees. However, displacement also takes place when people are forced to move from the centre to the periphery due to rising rents or when there are fewer spaces for young people that do not require them to consume.

In political discourse, there are voices that play these marginalised people and groups off against each other, blaming one group for the displacement of another. In view of the lack of opportunities for marginalised groups to shape society, however, this argument is contradictory and passes on responsibility.
Responsibility can only be claimed where power exists. It is not only in the hands of political decision-makers, but also arises through the accumulation of income and wealth, partly detached from democratic political mechanisms.

The art installation "Take a Seat, Make a Stand!" characterises the massive inequality in the distribution of power and resources as the primary social cause of segregation phenomena. Analogous to the feminist metaphor of the glass ceiling, these structural (and infrastructural) barriers contribute to the stabilisation of a hierarchy that runs counter to the idea of equal opportunities for all.

The intervention makes these invisible boundaries perceptible and aims to encourage people to take a critical stance in the discussion. It presents freely accessible public space as a valuable resource and reveals a dystopia in which the park bench as a place and symbol of participation in urban life only exists as an inaccessible and museum-like object in a display case.

Thank you:
Kevin Brown, Valentin Dander, Elisabeth Medicus, Michael Gassebner, Tiroler Glasmalerei, Myriam Kraml

Techniques:
stainless steel, laminated safety glass, park bench

Financed by: Land Tirol
Selected by: Kunst im öffentlichen Raum (KÖR)

Year: 2016

Download: Master's thesis "Bänke lesen" (engl.: Reading Benches) by Brigitte Anna Egger

Take a seat, make a stand! Take a seat, make a stand! Take a seat, make a stand! Take a seat, make a stand! Take a seat, make a stand!
Kurze Nacht des Protests Petra-Gerschner - Foto by Daniel Jarosch
↑ Foto by Daniel Jarosch
Kurze Nacht des Protests by Petra Gerschner

Take a seat, make a stand!
↑ Foto by Alexander Kopp

Take a seat, make a stand!

amoeba

Kunst im öffentlichen Raum

Nehmen Sie Platz!



Im verdichteten urbanen Raum kommt es immer wieder zu kontrovers geführten Debatten darüber, wer die Stadt wie nutzen darf. Dabei fällt die große Akzeptanz in der Bevölkerung gegenüber einer Politik der Abschottung und Ausgrenzung auf. Auf lokaler Ebene wird das zum Beispiel im Zusammenhang mit Schlaf- und Bettelverbotszonen oder bei der Unterbringung von Geflüchteten deutlich. Verdrängung findet aber auch dann statt, wenn Menschen durch steigende Mietpreise aus dem Zentrum in die Peripherie abwandern müssen oder Räume ohne Konsum-Zwang für Jugendliche weniger werden.

Im politischen Diskurs gibt es Stimmen, die diese an den Rand gedrängten Menschen und Gruppen gegeneinander ausspielen, eine Gruppe also für die Verdrängung einer anderen verantwortlich machen. Angesichts der mangelnden gesellschaftlichen Gestaltungsmöglichkeiten für marginalisierte Gruppen, ist diese Argumentation jedoch widersprüchlich und eine Abwälzung von Verantwortung.
Verantwortung kann nur dort eingefordert werden, wo Macht vorhanden ist. Sie liegt nicht nur in den Händen der politischen Entscheidungstragenden, sondern entsteht auch, teilweise losgelöst von demokratiepolitischen Mechanismen, durch die Akkumulation von Einkommen und Vermögen.

Die Kunstinstallation „Nehmen Sie Platz!“ charakterisiert die massive Ungleichverteilung von Macht und Ressourcen als primäre gesellschaftliche Ursache für Abschottungsphänomene. Analog zur feministischen Metapher der gläsernen Decke, tragen diese strukturellen (und infrastrukturellen) Barrieren zur Stabilisierung einer Hierarchie bei, die der Idee der Chancengleichheit für alle entgegensteht.

Die Intervention macht diese unsichtbaren Grenzen wahrnehmbar und will dazu ermutigen, in der Diskussion einen kritischen Standpunkt einzunehmen. Sie präsentiert den frei zugänglichen, öffentlichen Raum als hohes Gut und offenbart dabei eine Dystopie, in welcher die Parkbank als Platz und Symbol der Teilhabe am urbanen Geschehen nur mehr als unzugängliches und museales Ausstellungsstück in einer Vitrine existiert.

Danke:
Kevin Brown, Valentin Dander, Elisabeth Medicus, Michael Gassebner, Tiroler Glasmalerei, Myriam Kraml

Techniken:
Edelstahl, Verbundsicherheitsglas, Parkbank

Gefördert von: Land Tirol
Ausgewählt von: Kunst im öffentlichen Raum (KÖR)

Jahr: 2016

Download: Masterarbeit "Bänke lesen" von Brigitte Anna Egger

Take a seat, make a stand! Take a seat, make a stand! Take a seat, make a stand! Take a seat, make a stand! Take a seat, make a stand!
Kurze Nacht des Protests Petra-Gerschner - Foto by Daniel Jarosch
↑ Foto: Daniel Jarosch
Kurze Nacht des Protests, Petra Gerschner

Take a seat, make a stand!
↑ Foto: Alexander Kopp

Take a seat, make a stand!